The David Awards

David G. Sasher, Sr., was a great supporter of the mystery genre and a prime mover in the early days of Deadly Ink. In his honor, Deadly Ink conference attendees vote every year for the best mystery novel of the year before. Past winners of the David award include:

  • 2017:  Ilene Schneider for Yom Killer
  • 2016:  Jack Getze for Big Shoes
  • (tie)  A. J. Sidransky for Forgiving Mariela Camacho
  • 2015:  Jeff Markowitz for Death and White Diamonds
  • (tie)  Steven Rigolosi for The Outsmarting of Criminals
  • 2014:  E. F. Watkins for Dark Music
  • 2013:  Jane K. Cleland for Dolled Up for Murder
  • 2012:  no conference
  • 2011:  no conference
  • 2010:  Hallie Ephron for Never Tell a Lie
  • 2009:  Robin Hathaway for Sleight of Hand
  • 2008:  Jane K. Cleland for Deadly Appraisal
  • 2007:  Steven Rigolosi for Who Gets the Apartment